April 16 – This Day in Country Music


Patsy Cline made an appearance on Pet Milk Grand Ole Opry which included renditions of “Strange” and “Imagine That.”

Johnny Cash recorded the first of his ABC-TV weekly shows Hello…I’m Johnny Cash at the Ryman Auditorium, kicking off with “Folsom Prison Blues.” The show, which featured guests Glen Campbell, Jeannie C. Riley and Joe Tex, became the fifth episode to be aired.

Charlie Rich was at #1 on the US Country chart with, “A Very Special Love Song”. The song was written by Billy Sherrill and Norro Wilson, who had also written Rich’s 1973 hit, “The Most Beautiful Girl”. Sherrill and Wilson won a Grammy Award for Best Country Song at the 1975 ceremony for “A Very Special Love Song”.

Alabama was at #1 on the Country singles chart with “Dixieland Delight” which was released as the lead-off single from their latest album The Closer You Get….

Brooks & Dunn released their fourth studio album Borderline which produced five singles on the Hot Country Songs charts for the duo. The album also became their second US #1 album.

Shania Twain became the first woman to be named songwriter, and artist of the year in the Nashville Songwriter Achievement Awards.

Carrie Underwood’s “Before He Cheats” video won three trophies at the CMT Music Awards, held at Belmont University’s Curb Events Center in Nashville. Other winners on the night included Taylor Swift, Sugarland, Jack Ingram, Rascal Flatts, and Kenny Chesney.

Country singer Alan Jackson was awarded his own star at 6801 Hollywood Boulevard on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Lionel Richie was at #1 on the Country charts with Tuskegee which featured 13 of his hit songs performed as duets with country stars including Sugarland’s Jennifer Nettles, Jason Aldean, Tim McGraw, Blake Shelton, Darius Rucker, Rascal Flatts, Kenny Chesney, Billy Currington, Little Big Town, Shania Twain, Kenny Rogers, Willie Nelson and Jimmy Buffett.

American country music singer and songwriter Kelsea Ballerini was inducted as the youngest member of the Grand Ole Opry, with Carrie Underwood officiating the induction.